Iran blocks entry from Western Europe amid Omicron

As part of its efforts to halt the spread of the Omicron COVID-19 version, Iran has placed a 15-day travel ban on citizens from the United Kingdom, France, Norway and Denmark. Iran banned all entries from all four nations.

The ban was announced on state television on Sunday as the country cranked up its anti-virus surveillance. Iran is the hardest-hit nation by the COVID-19 in the Middle East, recording 6,184,762 infections with 131,400 fatalities.


According to the decision of the National Headquarters for Combating the COVID-19 and the Ministry of Interior, foreign nationals are forbidden from entering Iran for 15 days beginning today,” said Rohollah Latifi, a spokesman for Iran’s Customs.

In the last week of November, the same ban was imposed on travellers coming from South Africa and seven other neighbouring countries, was also extended for 15 days.

Meanwhile, 14 verified cases of Omicron have been reported in Iran, the centre of the Middle East pandemic.

Despite this, media reports stated that detection kits were not widely distributed, and authorities have warned that a spread could occur in the coming weeks.

The nation has reported 131,400 deaths in five waves of COVID-19 since February 2020.

Nearly 51.3 million of Iran’s 85 million people have got all of their immunisation shots.


Even US airlines also cancelled their hundreds of flights sequentially for the third day due to a continuous spike of COVID-19 and a highly transferrable variant of Omicron. At the same time, cancellations are likely to impose, and 920 flights were delayed.

Tourists arrange travels during the Christmas vacations, which are frequently during peak air travel hours.

Despite this, the rapid spread of the Omicron form has increased in COVID-19 infections, leading airlines and cruise lines to cancel flights and confine pilots and staff.

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.