Send-off session to USA for Grade 11 learners

“Let me wish you a safe journey to the USA, my kids. Go and be our ambassadors. Represent us well when you are there. As you will be adopted by international families, make sure you teach them our culture and traditions but also learn from them in this 12 months period,” Executive Mayor Cllr Mamedupi Teffo said.

The Executive formally send-off three students from Capricorn High School, under Capricorn District Municipality, who is going for an exchange program on the YES Programme in the USA. They will leave the country on 5 August 2022 and come back in June 2023.


Molatela Mkhalemele (boy), Shatadi Dikgale (girl) and Rotondwa Mathivha (girl) were accompanied by their parents to the send-off session with the Executive Mayor, who was joined by MMC for Corporate Services, Cllr Selamolela and the Municipal Manager Mr Selepe.

“I have organized some vouchers for you to assist you on your trip to the USA. I would also like to thank Ms Naledi Masipa, who is an international volunteer for AFS Association, for organizing this programme,” she added.

AFS is an international youth exchange organization which consists of more than 50 independent, not-for-profit organizations, each with its own network of volunteers, professionally staffed offices, and volunteer board of directors.

The AFS Association was established in May 1920 to coordinate reunions among former members of the American Field Service (AFS) and to administer the AFS Fellowships for French Universities program, which had been established in December 1919.

It allows people to act as responsible global citizens working for peace and understanding in a diverse world. It acknowledges that peace is a dynamic concept threatened by injustice, inequity, and intolerance.


The organization have a programme called The YES program, which is funded by the U.S. Department of State. It provides scholarships for global high school students, grades 8 to 11, with strong academic records, to spend up to one academic year in the United States.