Verified administrative units list will be presented from April 11 to 13: Council Elections

In practice for the conduct of the Women Councils and Committee Elections from the village to national level 2022, the Committee of the Electrol conducted a seminar in order to verify and confirm the administrative units (Villages/Cells and Parishes/Wards) countrywide.

The exercise of the seminar is conducted from March 1-26, 2022, in the whole country, and the commission has processed the data, which was compared, verified and confirmed during the exercise.

As per the spokesperson Electrol Commission, Paul Bukenya, the commission will show the list of verified administrative units from today, Monday, April 11, to Wednesday, April 20 2022, for public viewing at the division and sub country headquarters in the respective cities and districts countrywide.

He further stated that the list displays the exercise would be shown during the working hours throughout the above period, including weekends.

Moreover, the exercise of the list will be conducted under the direct supervision of the respective division and sub-country elections supervisors.

According to Bukenya, the aim of these displays exercise is to enable the public to confirm that only existing administrative units (villages/cells and parishes/wards) and those created by April 9 2021, by way of a statutory instrument and included on the list;

“This will also allow the public to verify the accuracy of the details of their respective administrative units, such as the parish/ward and village/cell, and confirm that the administrative units are correctly located within their respectful and rightful sub-county/town council/municipal division and parish/ward,” he said.

He said any complaint against the inclusion or deletion of an administrative unit (village/cell or parish/ward) should be raised to the respective district/city returning officer through the division/sub-county supervisor using the forms provided by the EC.

After the display exercise, Bukenya stated that the commission would produce the final list of administrative units disseminated to all stakeholders by May 13 2022.

“All persons who are going to participate in the display exercise shall be needed to capitulate with guidelines issued by the Electoral Commission following the government of Uganda and Ministry of Health measures against the spread of Covid-19,” he said.