Caribbean bans Russian, Belarusian from citizenship by investment programmes

As Russian Federation invaded the neighboring country-Ukraine, Caribbean countries have joined UK and EU in raising voices against Russia by declining restrictions on the country. However, this is not the first time Caribbean countries are supporting them and their decisions. 

Most of the countries in the world are against Russia due to its military action against Ukraine. 


So, in this regard, the United Nations General Assembly voted against Russia and diplomatically isolated the country. UN also demands immediate de-escalation of the military forces from Ukraine.

As per reports by the Caribbean based news outlet WIC News, Antigua and Barbuda government stated that the CBI Programme Unit has been following all the disturbing events that occurred in Ukraine since the Russian invasion. 

“The rapidly deteriorating and worsening conditions has forced us to temporarily terminate Citizenship by Investment Programme for the applicants from Russia and Belarus as it is increasingly difficult for us to work in these jurisdictions.”

In support of the invasion, Caribbean countries promised that they would not grant second citizenship to Russian nationals. Barbados, Dominica, St Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda, St Vincent and the Grenadines and St Lucia are the Caribbean states who voted in favour of the United Nations resolution against the Russian aggression.

Scott Furssedonn -Wood, the UK High Commissioner to Barbados & Eastern Caribbean, declared while making an official tweet, citing, “141 countries just voted in favour of this UN resolution against Russian aggression in Ukraine”.

The Commonwealth of Dominica and St Kitts and Nevis also announced that with the instant effect, new applications from Russia would not go for processing and also stated that this measure is geared to safeguard the global community and to secure the integrity of the country’s CBI programme.


‘Roosevelt Skerrit’, Prime Minister of Dominica, took to the tweeter, in which he showed his support towards the decision of the EU and UK. His tweet read, “The Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica is deeply disturbed and condemns the military attack by the Russian Federation against the people of Ukraine.”

Meanwhile, the Citizenship by Investment Unit of St Lucia reported that the Republic Bank (EC) Limited – RBEC informed the CBI Unit that the bank will no longer facilitate any transfer of funds from Russia via CIP Application, Agents, or Promoters until further notice.

“RBEC also stated that this decision is a reply to the ongoing situation of unrest between Russia and Ukraine.”

Head of Delegations of the European Union to Barbados and Eastern Caribbean Ambassador of Jamaica’ Malgorzata Wasilewska’ expressed his gratitude to the OECS countries for supporting EU against Russia while saying “no to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and calling for an end to hostilities.”

St. Kitts and Nevis also joined other nations to impose tough international sanctions against Russia and Belarus for their brutal aggression against Ukraine.

This was reported when the Prime minister of St Kitts and Nevis’ Timothy Harris’ tweeted on his official and stated that “#stkittsandnevis has joined other nations to impose tough international sanctions against Russia & Belarus for its brutal war of aggression against #Ukraine The Cabinet voted to replicate & implement in full the sanctions imposed by the EU, US & the UK.”

Notably, all five jurisdictions of the Caribbean offering the CBI Programme have the world’s most powerful due diligence process. It has an over 8 to 10% application rejection rate, states Citizenship by Investment Agent, AAA Associates Immigration Services, reported by WIC News.