Deputy Minister Nocawe Mafu congratulates Team SA on pocketing more medals at the 2022 Commonwealth Games

Birmingham (UK): Team South Africa added four more medals to their collection at the ongoing Commonwealth Games in Birmingham on Saturday.

Leading the way was Polokwane wrestler Nicolaas de Lange, who secured a silver medal in the men’s freestyle 97kg.

Two boxers also did the country proud in securing bronze medals – Simnikiwe Bongco in the men’s middleweight division and Phiwokuhle Mnguni in the women’s featherweight division. 

The result was a particularly impressive one for Mnguni, who became the first female boxer in history to secure a Commonwealth Games medal for South Africa.

Also in on the medal-winning action was athlete Zeney van der Walt, who ran a personal best time to secure the bronze medal in the 400m hurdles.

Deputy Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture Nocawe Mafu’ speaking from Ekhaya Centre in Birmingham, had this to say “congratulations to Team SA for the sterling effort that our medallists at the Commonwealth Games have so far displayed. Once again, we must make special mention of our women who are making history at these Games and during this woman’s month.”

“As the Games wind down in Birmingham, we wish those remaining athletes the best of luck as they continue with our quest for more medals”.

Deputy Minister Nocawe Mafu made these remarks whilst meeting with SASCOC Senior Management team at Ekhaya Centre, which is South Africa’s home away from home.’

Team South Africa has currently amassed 26 medals and sitting in the eighth position on the Commonwealth Games rankings: 

Seven golds, eight silvers and 11 bronze medals.


GOLD (7)

1. Lara van Niekerk (Swimming: 50m breaststroke)

2. Lara van Niekerk (Swimming: 100m breaststroke)

3. Pieter Coetzé (Swimming: 100m backstroke)

4. Tatjana Schoenmaker (Swimming: 200m breaststroke)

5. Michaela Whitebooi (Judo: -48kg)

6. Ronald Brown, Angelo Davids, Selvyn Davids, Zain Davids, Muller du Plessis, Christie Grobbelaar, Dewald Human, Sako Makata, Mfundo Ndhlovu, JC Pretorius, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Impi Visser Shaun Williams (Men’s Rugby Sevens)

7. Ndodomzi Jonathan Ntutu (Athletics: T11/12 100m)


1. Tatjana Schoenmaker (Swimming: 200m breaststroke)

2. Pieter Coetzé (Swimming: 50m backstroke)

3. Chad de Clos (Swimming: 200m butterfly)

4. Erin Gallagher (Swimming: 50m butterfly)

5. Thabelo Muvhango, Bridget Calitz, Anneke Snyman and Esme Kruger (Bowls: Women’s Fours)

6. Akani Simbine (Athletics: 100m)

7. Charl du Toit (Para-athletics: T37/38 100m)

8. Nicolaas de Lange (Wrestling: Freestyle 97kg)


1. Kaylene Corbett (Swimming: 200m breaststroke)

2. Pieter Coetzé (Swimming: 200m backstroke)

3. Christian Sadie (Para-swimming: S7 50m freestyle)

4. Charne Griesel (Judo: -52kg)

5. Caitlin Rooskrantz (Gymnastics: Uneven bars)

6. Candice Lill (Cycling: Mountain biking)

7. Desiree Levin and Victoria van der Merwe (Para-bowls: Women’s Pairs B6-8)

8. Jovan van Vuuren (Athletics: Long jump)

9. Simnikiwe Bongco (Boxing: Middleweight)

10. Phiwokuhle Mnguni (Boxing: Featherweight)

11. Zeney van der Walt (Athletics: 400m hurdles)